A Review of Epithelial Ovarian Cancer and the Mechanism of Carboplatin as an Effective Chemotherapeutic Agent

Thumbnail Image
Issue Date
Berube, Samantha L.
Liu, Jiayin
Pheil, Lydia K.
The cell cycle is made of the four stages G1, S (synthesis), G2, and M (mitosis). The cell grows in G1 phase, the DNA and chromosomes are duplicated in S phase, the cell grows and prepares to divide in G2 phase, and the cell with its nucleus divide in M phase. However, if the cell cycle does not proceed from G1 to S phase, the cell may differentiate and enter G0, the cell will stop grow in G0. If the cell does not differentiate, a signal is received from cyclin D and E, and the cell cycle goes into S phase and replicate its DNA. After several hours, another signal from cyclin A activate the cell to enter G2. The cell will enter mitosis and divide when the cyclin B become active. Eukaryotic cells use cyclins as checkpoint to control the progression through the stages of cell division. The cell will reach a checkpoint at each stage, which ensure all the proteins and DNA are in the correct position before moving to the next stage [3].